Recently, I have been reviewing my photography skills and took some pictures so show some principles. Here are the pictures, and below each image is the principle I was working on:

Outdoor Light
Outdoor Light
Indoor Light
Indoor Light
Foreground Focus
Foreground Focus
Background Focus
Background Focus
Rule of Thirds
Rule of Thirds
Lead Room
Lead Room

I really love photography, almost as much as I love design! Going out (or in) to find something beautiful or interesting just really fun work that I enjoy. Taking these images was good practice for me to think about what I am trying to achieve, and doing it. Each of these images took fore-thought and after-thought (some of them a little more than others). After taking all of these, I brought them into Lightroom, made a couple of basic edits, and exported them to blog size.

The first image was taken in Utah at Thanksgiving Point during their Tulip festival. I made sure to get the colors in focus and bright, while also making sure the sky wasn’t blown out. The second image was taken in an old house in Bannock, Idaho. The house had some beautiful items, so I set up these mason jars in front of the natural light and took an awesome picture.

The third and fourth images are both of some Melaleuca oil blends. I took the images in a lightbox of mine to get that white background. I adjusted the focus from the foreground to the background to show the differences in focus.

The fifth image I set up at Bannock, Idaho to get some nice leading lines according to the Rule of thirds. The last image is of my husband at Mesa Falls, Idaho. We climbed over the fence to sit on the rocks over looking the falls. This picture is nice because it has some really nice lead room around his head.

