Wow, what a couple of weeks it has been! This project has been a real stressor for me! It has caused me to really think and look at things (I mean everything) differently. This project was really difficult, but it has taught me SO MUCH and I am so grateful for that. Let me take you through the process of how I got my final product!

First I started sketching. It is actually pretty difficult to sketch for a watch. I mean we all know what a watch looks like, so what is there to really brainstorm? But then I realized that there is going to be a lot more that needs to go into actually making the watch, so I started getting more specific/creative with my sketches. Here they are:

sketches-combies

Then I created my first Draft. After feeling pretty good about my sketches, I decided to get something down in illustrator. This was A LOT more difficult than I thought it would be. I had no idea how complex the gradients and shadows were on a real watch until I tried making one. After several hours of trial and error, I was able to create a pretty decent watch body. Here is what I came up with:

draft-1

Then came a few more drafts. Knowing that I still had a long way to go, I kept working. Below is my second draft. I was able to get a lot more objects in, but I knew that I still needed to do a lot of work on it. I went with a pink band because I am girly and I thought it would be cute.

draft-2-9-45-38-pm

With this second draft, I went to my peers. I wanted some feedback on how to make it look more realistic. Below you can see my revised, and third draft. I circled the things that I changed from the second one.

draft-3 draft-3-circles

I am really grateful for the feedback I received! I think it really helped me to keep moving forward and working on it. (because I will be honest, at this point of my process, I was pretty fed up.)

The Finished Product. After several more hours of editing (and frustration), I ended up with my final draft. To be honest, I am not totally in love with it. I feel like I could tinker with it for several more days and still not be satisfied. But because I do not have time for that, this is what we ended up with. I think that it turned out pretty good for a beginners work! It is hard to tell it really looks realistic because I have been staring at it for a couple weeks, but I did what I could to make it look as real as possible. Below the final image is everything I changed from the 3rd draft. Take a look:

final-watch

In words: I added a little shadow on each of the lugs to make it looks like it was under the face of the watch, made the hour marks looks more realistic by adding a gradient and drop shadow on each, added a gradient on top to make it look like there is class on the watch, adjusted the way the knob looks, added a realistic drop shadow to the hands, added a couple more rims for definition inside the face, and lastly, I adjusted the way my bands look to make them look like rubber.

Below is the screenshot of all of my shapes selected, and also the reference photos and workspace that I used to create my watch.

everything-selected workspace

